Skip to content
Photo courtesy of Andrea Gacs

欢庆与哀悼使我们向改变前进

富勒神学院是一个为对话提供交汇之处,也是一个对多元与异议熟悉的群体。没有比2018年6月4日这周,当富勒在欢庆与哀悼的高潮中所经历的更真实了。我们为来自42个国家的661位学生庆祝的同时,也见证了美国非裔学生对不公义的呐喊。他们在富勒给毕业生赠言的典礼中引人注目的抗议,有些人会觉得是个相当令人挫折的扰乱,对其他人则是令人激励的时刻,对富勒的领导则是一个清楚的行动呼召。他们的举动表达了在富勒许多黑人学生的深刻失望,对流于空谈的不能容忍,并要求改变。富勒领导在一个尊重言论与抗议自由的氛围下,接收他们的抗议,同时鼓励支持学生和他们所关注的事。

在世界各地亲友所参加的周末活动中,学院的老师和行政管理阶层三次表达委身于支持美国非裔学生所关注的事。这公开的支持包括在毕业典礼中,对来自肯亚的学生在致辞里劝戒学校要爱护尊重美国非裔学生时,起立鼓掌。

赖伯顿校长说,“行动是委身改变最大声和最可靠的证据。在种族议题里,没有比这更真实的了。话语有其位置,但行动是每个人都要的证据。“

富勒神学院正处于需要更快,更明确行动的改变之过程。赖校长在抗议当天发的一份内部文件指出,“我们还有相当一段路程。今天在给毕业生赠言典礼中的抗议,是我们美国非裔学生所受不公义待遇产生的一份 ’痛苦的礼物‘ … ‘我们正在一个十字路口:改变是必然的。’“ 抗议之后,赖校长把麦克风交给抗议者,站在正在发言的抗议者身边,并将赠言典礼的录像,包括抗议和拉丁美洲研究与教牧领导学教授 Juan Martinez 的讲道,传送给职员、学生、和公共媒体。

多元,、包容、平权对教育、经济、和公民意识都是必要的。富勒领导 Alexis Abernethy 确认这些对于卓越的学术都是不可或缺的。虽然我们相信充分的整合是神学院每个人的责任,我们很高兴由现任心理系Abernethy 教授来执掌一个新职位,专注于这个领域策略性的改变和创新。她会出任主理教师包容与平权的副教务长,也会致力于鼓励神学院从未被充分代表的族群中辨认障碍和透过招聘、保留、及造就教师,带来使命和生命的转变。此外,副教务长 Abernethy 会贯彻改变并为教师提供资源,“以致教学大纲和教学方法能反应更充分了解文化的视野,帮助建立每个人和机构对多元、包容、平权的能力。“ 设立这个职位与她的任命是对于美国非裔学生关于 ”优先招聘与保留美国非裔教师“ 以及在富勒所有的主要课程中结合黑人学术的诉求之回应。

Abernethy 教授指出,“在朝这方向进行的步骤里,重要的是我们不但要行动,而且要致力于各种不同的行动。致力于种族包容的环境表示我们愿意如同一个组织般同心努力经营综合性的策略。这包括我们所有的教育资源和管理领导。“

教授理事会主席及神学与宣教教席杨伟明教授强调在这些改变中教师带头作用的重要性。“支持非白人教师的升迁与兴盛,改革课程囊括全球所有范围,尤其是黑人学术,“ 和神学院行政主管各个阶层合作,与族裔中心配搭,包括 William E. Pannell Center 美国非裔教会研究中心,拉丁美洲中心,韩语中心,及美国亚裔中心。 杨教授说,”靠着上帝的帮助,我们从现在到未来的几年内,会努力不懈地打造一个新的富勒,更加欢迎所有非白人,包括我们的美国非裔兄弟姐妹。

目前神学院正致力于学生们所提其它相关事宜,包括为黑人学生提供更强的途径和 ”培育黑人学者。“ William E. Pannell  美国非裔教会研究中心的副主任 Clifton Clarke 最近发表公告表示中心会为三个学院中,从事美国非裔教会研究的学生提供奖学金。Clarke 教授说,”除了重要的组织性改变来促成美国非裔学生在富勒的茁壮成长,我们也委身透过中心监督稳定的学术计划安排,更好的培养支持美国非裔学生。“ 此外,回应学生的诉求,代理教务长 Mari Clements 宣告心理学院已同意委身于训练黑人学生(包括其他不同背景的学生)如何在当他们是诊所中唯一的非白人之处境下运作。这来自此次对话过程中提出的一个重要需求。她说,“因为多元一直是我们在心理学院的焦点,我们已有些许成效,但仍需在深度与实质上委身,而不只是打个钩而已。“ 这些以及其它在进行的特别项目,将在接近六月底,机构所必需处理的过程完成时,向富勒群体广为分享。

赖校长强调,“富勒在促进关于信仰对话时给予异议空间有悠久历史。“ 我们会继续委身于作为一个公民对话的空间,让彼此都能觉得被对方听到。长久以来,这是我们作为一个多宗派神学院的特别基因。我知道这在富勒是真实且激励人的:通常即使机构成员想要改变,但改变往往迟缓,除非整个群体一同朝着公义的方向前进,否则改变无望。在赠言典礼上的抗议及其所代表的更广泛的矛盾,是一个哀悼的表达和一个公义的呼召。赖校长说, “当我们听到痛苦和不公义的呐喊时,我们必须对准上帝声音的频道。在这里我们会集中我们的精力并实践带来改变的实际步骤。”

常见问题

Join the Conversation

Please share your thoughts and questions with us here.

Photo courtesy of Andrea Gacs

Celebration and Lament Move Us Toward Change

+ Letter One: the first in a series of responses around African American students’ petitions for change at Fuller

 

Fuller Seminary is a convening place for dialogue and a community where diversity and dissent are familiar territory. At no time has that been more true than during the week of June 4, 2018, when Fuller was the context for heightened celebration and lament. We celebrated 661 students from 42 countries. We also witnessed cries of injustice from African American students. Their dramatic protest at Fuller’s Baccalaureate service was a frustrating disruption for some, a galvanizing moment for others, and a clear call to action for the leadership of Fuller. The action illustrated the depth of disappointment among many black students at Fuller, intolerance for “just words” that might prove empty, and demands for change. Fuller leadership received their protest in an atmosphere of respect for free speech and protest, while urging support for the students and their concerns.

Three times in the events of the weekend attended by families and friends from all over the world, faculty and administrators committed to support African American student concerns. That public “yes” included a standing ovation at Commencement when a Kenyan student speaker admonished the school to treat African American students with love and respect.

“Action is the loudest and most reliable evidence of a commitment to change,” says President Mark Labberton. “Nowhere is that more true than in matters of race. Words have their place, but action is the evidence everyone needs.

Fuller Seminary is in the process of change that requires faster, more evident action. “We have a serious distance to go,” Labberton notes, posting in an internal missive on the day of the protest: “Today’s protest at Baccalaureate was a ‘painful gift’ that bears witness to injustice suffered by our African American students. . . . ‘We are at a crossroad: Change must happen.’” Following the protest, Labberton offered the mic, stood by while the protestors made a statement, and posted a video link to the Baccalaureate event for employees, students, and public social media—with the video including the protest and the sermon by Professor of Hispanic Studies and Pastoral Leadership Juan Martínez.

Diversity, inclusion, and equity are educational, economic, and civic imperatives, Fuller leader Alexis Abernethy confirms, “and critical to achieving academic excellence.” And though we believe that working toward full integration is everyone’s responsibility at the seminary, we are pleased to establish a new position to focus on strategic change and innovation in this area that will be filled by Dr. Abernethy, currently professor of psychology. The Associate Provost for Faculty Inclusion and Equity will serve to foster transformational change in the mission and life of the seminary by identifying barriers and promoting advocacy through recruitment, retention, and development of faculty from underrepresented populations. In addition, Associate Provost Abernethy will implement changes and offer resources for faculty “so that syllabi content and teaching approaches will reflect a more culturally informed lens, helping to build capacity for persons and for the institution as it relates to diversity, inclusion, and equity.” The creation of this role and her appointment are in direct relation to the concerns expressed by African American students to “prioritize hiring and retention of African American faculty” and to integrate course content and black scholarship into the core curriculum of all Fuller’s programs.

Dr. Abernethy notes, “In moving forward with these steps, it is important not only that we act, but also that we engage in this action in a different way. Working toward a more racially inclusive environment will mean that we will need to be willing to engage in a comprehensive strategic process together as an institution. This will include all of our educational offerings and administrative leadership.”

Faculty Senate Chair and Professor of Theology and Mission Amos Yong emphasizes the importance of faculty leading the way in these changes, “supporting the advancement and thriving of persons of color on the faculty, reforming curriculum to include the full spectrum of global voices—with emphasis on black scholarship,” and working with administrators at every level of the seminary, partnering with ethnic centers such as the William E. Pannell Center for African American Church Studies, Centro Latino, the Korean Center, and the Asian American Center. “With the help of God,” says Dr. Yong, “we will work unrelentingly now and in the years to come toward a new Fuller that will be more welcoming to all people of color, including our African American brothers and sisters.”

Other issues specified by students that the institution is taking action to address include supporting a stronger pathway for black students and “cultivation of black scholars.” Clifton Clarke, Associate Dean for the William E. Pannell Center for African American Church Studies, recently announced that the center will roll out a scholarship program for students researching in the area of African American church studies from all three schools. Dr. Clarke says, “in addition to the institutional changes that are paramount for African American students to thrive at Fuller, we are committed to doing a much better job at nurturing and supporting African American students through the robust scholarship program that the Pannell Center will oversee.” Also in response to student petition, Acting Provost Mari Clements reports that Fuller’s School of Psychology has agreed upon a commitment to prepare black students (and students from other diverse backgrounds) for being the only person of color in their clinical settings—a need that has been emphasized through the process of these conversations. “Because diversity has long been an area of focus for us [in the School of Psychology], we have made some gains and yet have significant areas of concern that we are committed to addressing in a deep and substantial way—not just checking a box,” says Dr. Clements. These, and other specific initiatives already well in process at Fuller, will be shared widely in the Fuller community closer to the end of June when required institutional processes have been completed.

President Labberton emphasizes that Fuller has a long history of facilitating conversations related to faith that give space to dissenting ideas. We remain committed to being a place where civil dialogue can take place and both sides can feel heard—this has long been in our DNA as a uniquely multidenominational seminary. This, I know, is both true and aspirational at Fuller: institutions are slow to change even with the will of their members, yet there is no hope for change unless the whole community journeys together in the same direction toward justice.” The protest during Baccalaureate and the wider tensions it represents are viewed as an expression of lament and call to justice. “We must be attuned to the voice of God when we hear cries of pain and unrighteousness,” Labberton says. “This is the place where we will focus our energies and take tangible steps toward change.”

 

FAQ

Related Material

Creating Paths into God’s Future

Juan Martínez, professor of Hispanic studies and pastoral leadership, reflects on the need to seek out marginalized voices and create new paths for faithful discipleship

+ Listen Now

A New Associate Provost Position

Longtime Fuller Professor of Psychology Alexis Abernethy is named to the newly created position of Associate Provost for Faculty Inclusion and Equity

+ Read Now

Join the Conversation

Please share your thoughts and questions with us here.